We'll go farther together

As a standing University committee, the Student Media Board serves "as the institutional publisher" for Student Media.

The SMB is primarily responsible for selecting student leaders, approving annual budgets and hearing any grievances that cannot be otherwise resolved. The SMB does not dictate or determine editorial content. Responsibility for day-to-day editorial operations belongs to the selected student leaders. The Director of Student Media is responsible for day-to-day business operations and long-term strategy for Student Media.

The board consists of students, staff and faculty from across the university, as well as media professionals outside of KSU.

Check out the guidelines, members and meeting documents below.

Student Media Board Guidelines

Voting Members

Open Seat

MDJ Undergraduate Student Representative

Open Seat

MDJ Graduate Student Representative

Olufemi Akinnifesi

Graduate Student Senate Representative

Ben Davis

Director, Center for Student Involvement

Ginnie Dressler

Faculty Senate Representative

Jeff Fruit

MDJ Faculty Representative

Madison Goerl

Undergraduate Student Government Representative

Emily Metzgar

Director, School of Media and Journalism

Joyleah Odom

Undergraduate Student Government Representative

Fabio Polanco

Faculty Senate Representative

Stephanie Smith

MDJ Faculty Representative

Ben Wolford

Media Professional

Deandra Wright

MDJ Undergraduate Student Representative

Non-Voting Members

Meeting Documents

April 6, 2016 SMB Selection Meeting Minutes
April 1, 2016 Budget Meeting Minutes
January 22, 2016 Special Meeting Minutes
December 4, 2015 SMB Selection Meeting Minutes
October 9, 2015 SMB Meeting Minutes
April 16, 2015 JMCMB/SMPC Meeting Minutes
Previous Page