As a standing University committee, the Student Media Board serves “as the institutional publisher” for Student Media.

The SMB is primarily responsible for selecting student leaders, approving annual budgets and hearing any grievances that cannot be otherwise resolved. The SMB does not dictate or determine editorial content. Responsibility for day-to-day editorial operations belongs to the selected student leaders.

The Director of Student Media is responsible for day-to-day business operations and long term strategy for Student Media.

The board consists of students, staff and faculty from across the university, as well as media professionals outside of KSU.

Check out the guidelines, members and meeting documents below.


Ron Sonedecker

MDJ Undergraduate Student Representative

Ben Davis

Director, Center for Student Involvement

Vacant Seat

Undergraduate Student Government Representative

Carol Robinson

Faculty Senate Representative

Zachary Akers

MDJ Undergraduate Student Representative

Eduardo Strobel

MDJ Graduate Student Representative

Stephanie Smith

Faculty Senate Representative

Emily Metzgar

Director, School of Media and Journalism

Mike Jackson

MDJ Faculty Representative

Kimberley Beasley

Graduate Student Senate Representative

Thor Wasbotten

MDJ Faculty Representative

Vacant Seat

Undergraduate Student Government Representative

Lowell Perry

Media Professional, The Greater Cleveland Film Commission


Anne Gleydura

A Magazine Editor

Mariah Alanskas

The Burr Editor

Jimmy Miller

The Burr Adviser
A Magazine co-adviser

Collin Geter

Black Squirrel Radio General Manager

Micah Manus

Black Squirrel Radio Adviser

Alexa Warmuth

Flash Film Commission President

Chris Knoblock

Flash Film Commission Adviser

Mandolin Arnett

Fusion Editor

Kassi Jackson

Fusion Adviser
A Magazine co-adviser

Isabella Schreck

The Kent Stater Editor

Cheryl Powell

Kent Stater/Newsroom Adivser

Jillian Bremner

Luna Negra Editor

Anthony Tognazzini

Luna Negra Adviser

Gretchen Hoak

TV2 Adviser

Nuried Hurtado

TV2 General Manager

Vacant Seat

Uhuru Editor

Linda Piccirillo-Smith

Uhuru Adviser

Ashley Caudill

SM Sales Manager

Mizell Stewart

Interim Student Media Director

Marianne Warzinski

Helping with SMB